Again a very intense day at the summerschool - Reisverslag uit Boedapest, Hongarije van Jolijn Santegoeds - WaarBenJij.nu Again a very intense day at the summerschool - Reisverslag uit Boedapest, Hongarije van Jolijn Santegoeds - WaarBenJij.nu

Again a very intense day at the summerschool

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Jolijn

24 Juli 2012 | Hongarije, Boedapest

Today was very intense. Like 4 seasons in one day. But it was also a great day with a very nice evening, so it’s a happy end :)

This morning we started with a little bit of classical music :) before Anna Lawson started her lecture on the Right to education (art 24).
The CRPD mentions that States Parties shall ensure an inclusive education system at all levels and lifelong learning. The Millennium Development Goals mention education for all, which means free primary education and aiming for secondary education for all as well. Inclusive education means non-segregated.
Article 24.3.c says “Ensuring that the education of persons, and in particular children, who are blind, deaf or deafblind, is delivered in the most appropriate languages and modes and means of communication for the individual, and in environments which maximize academic and social development”. This is a kind of compromising article, because there were concerns about adequate support and adequate standards for deaf, blind and deafblind persons. Skills like sign language and Braille needs to be taught to be able to communicate.
Article 24.1.a mentions the purpose: “The full development of human potential …” and 24.1.c. “Enabling persons with disabilities to participate effectively in a free society”.
Article 24.2 says how this should be achieved: (c. ) by providing reasonable accommodation, and (e.) “Effective individualized support measures are provided in environments that maximize academic and social development, consistent with the goal of full inclusion”.
Reasonable accommodation is to remove disadvantages (obligated by non-discrimination), and effective individualized support is to maximize skills (progressive realization).
There is a difference in Inclusive education, Segregated education and Integrated education. Segregated education means that persons with disabilities go to special schools. Integrated education means that persons with disabilities go to a normal school, but are for example in separate classes, or just ‘dumped’ in a mainstream school. Inclusive education means that reasonable accommodation is really provided at school, and persons with disabilities are no longer segregated.
In special schools the standards are often lower, but inclusion means the same standard of education with the same exams, which should be dealt with by the Ministry of Education and not the Ministry of Health. Inclusive education has a positive effect on (reducing) stigma and isolation, which is also articulated under Awareness-raising in art. 8.1.c. “To promote awareness of the capabilities and contributions of persons with disabilities”. This leads to less stigma, more confidence and interaction, more skills for others, higher expectations and standards (self and others), non-discrimination and learning to respect differences (understanding and feeling comfortable with persons with disabilities as friends, parents or sibblings), and it is said to be cheaper (70% of budget).
Then we watched a youtube video about an inclusive university “living the dream” (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YD5-oXszf30 )
And then we watched another video, which is about integrated education and a testimony of abuse. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rxVJMY7ZeOY

UNESCO found in 2006 that 77 million children were not at school, of which 25 million had disabilities. In developing countries about 1-5 % of children with disabilities attend school.
Barriers towards inclusive education are: the schools reputations , lack of awareness, training of teachers, society (fear of the unknown) and parents and family, who fear abuse. It takes generations to end prejudice.

There are some cases of litigation on the right to education.(MDAC vs Bulgaria 2007 and Autism Europe vs France)

Then Peter Bartlett gave a lecture about Legal challenges to detention and treatment. We were asked to name things that would be useful for litigation on detention and treatment. We came up with a list of things: Such as: Should a guardian be able to consent to treatment? should a guardian have detention power? Is a cell treatment? (Milieutherapy?) Criminal detention? 48-hour trial rule? Different warrants? How do you proof dangerousness? Least restrictive alternative? Conditions? Restraints? Right to medical treatment? Regular review? Procedural time-limits? Appeal? Misdiagnosis? Independent second opinion? voluntary/involuntary ‘threat’? Awareness and information on rights? Preventive detention? Assessment of damages? Consent to treatment?

In some countries courts cases on admission procedures only take about 15 seconds, and there is no real hearing. Judges often don’t perceive that this procedure is actually about the rule of law and justice in a nation. There is no tradition of carefully weighing the aspects. The quality of courts varies, but is generally sad. This creates tension on litigation.
There is the bazooka-approach (win big or loose big) or the eating edges approach (small steps solely). Small steps only work if countries follow the law, and not ignore judgements. Also you have to look at the bigger picture, such as when you advocate for smaller homes or institutional upgrades, and then as a next step ask for abolition, this may just not be smart.

In some countries you need to go to a constitutional court to change the law.
The European Court of Human Rights (ECHR) isn’t comfortable with the substance of mental health detention, and finds it hard to criticize medical professionals. The ECHR is more comfortable with process issues and procedural cases. Procedures are safeguards who are supposed to protect against abuse and ill-treatment. Taking legislation seriously would already be a big step. After that maybe more substantive matters may be addressed. International case-law can serve as a guidance. (a judge in Ireland decided that “a substantial likelihood for dangerousness” needs concrete evidence.) This may help courts in making decisions. Stanev’s case shows that you have to select care based on needs, which implies a duty to have alternatives.

At the end of his lecture Peter Bartlett made a remark about that some will argue that ECT is barbaric, but that is hard as a procedural case. Some will say it was good, and then this treatment must be available. He said “I don’t know what is worse: ECT, which fries the brain, or medicines that destroy the nerve system”.
I was totally blown off my feet by this remark, and I was really upset. During lunchtime I was now and then fighting my tears, because it was such a lot to take in. I had to sort out my mind. I was supposed to talk about my personal case after lunch, but I had lost faith in litigating my case, because “if there were persons who like ECT, cells, forced drugging and maybe even caged beds, they might not abolish them” – according to Peter Bartlett’s theory. That upset me. How could these horrible practices be unrecognized?
I had to sit down and sort it out. And I realized that “these people just don’t know any better”, that’s why they accept it and agree with it. They think this is the best option. So that means that public awareness raising and promoting alternatives would be my only way to realize change, because the laws won’t save us (again: same conclusion, different day..). For a moment I asked myself what I was doing at this course. Why did I go, when I already knew how insensitive laws are.. It’s about laws, not about justice.. It was tough to get my head around this. Yesterday I had been so full of hope when I found out that the Netherlands had ratified the Rights of the Child in February 1995, which meant I could claim those rights, because I was institutionalized at the end of 1994. Now I lost that positive vibe again, and I felt hurt and sad, like all hope was lost. It was heavy.

After the lunch break we had “Litigation Surgery nr. 2”. Those of us who hadn’t presented our case yet, were to do so in this session. Me too, but I had just been upset by the lecture of Peter Bartlett. I listened to the other cases, and then it was my turn.

I told about my history of suicide attempts at age 16, and how that led to long term seclusion (almost 2 years), body cavity search, bed strapping, forced drugging and eventually the prohibition of music, reading and conversations. I told about how they neglected my broken Achilles tendon, which led to the closing of that ward, and how patients and nurses were relocated at other wards. I was transmitted to a psychiatric intensive care ward, with more staff and a more humane approach. I started to get a life, and appealed my forced stay by sending a letter to the judge, saying that I wanted to live. I then was free to leave, so I left, without support of the institution, which insisted that I should finish my treatment. I went away, and became homeless for 2,5 years. I had always been wanting to bring my horrors to court, and in 2002 I found a lawyer. Unfortunately he got a brain tumour, so he quit his practice. Since then I haven’t been able to find a new one (they have no time, or just don’t respond). I have sent everything to Juan Mendez, the Special Rapporteur on Torture, hoping he is willing to address these violations. And I’m still upset for not having access to justice.
I then told, quite emotionally, that I had just lost my faith again in litigation. Within Dutch law “danger to self” is a criteria, and that was the case, so the law isn’t violated. They say “I had my legal rights”. Also at the European Convention there is this phrase about “unsound mind”, so I doubt if I have any chance there. And also the lecture of Peter Bartlett had demotivated me, because “if there were persons who like cells, they might not abolish them”. But these persons just don’t know that there are other options, so then I need to raise awareness and promote alternatives. To me, litigation seemed really useless for my case. I was really quite emotional about this, I was trembling, and holding my tears.
The entire class was shocked by my story, and they were very supportive. They asked the MDAC-lecturers if they could help me with this case. And some had even offered to help me personally. That really warmed me, and it was a very important moment for me, to see that these legal experts were sensitive (so unlike many of my experiences). It was very special. I was still overwhelmed by emotions, so I was glad to have the noon break and smoke a cigarette. I really needed to calm down internally to be able to take new information in at the next session. And after the break I was back on my feet.

The next session was done by Oliver Lewis, about Selecting litigation among other advocacy tools. First we identified a list of alternatives or complementary actions to litigation that we would like to discuss, such as mediation, campaigning, advocacy (public support), use of monitoring reports, counter-activity and risks, authorities, pressuring governments to change, civil society cooperation, what if litigation fails, public awareness, promoting alternatives, how to introduce to the system, prevention of human rights-violations, media, coalition management, peer advocacy.
Then we discussed some various forms of advocacy: such as peer advocacy (self-advocacy), lay advocacy and professional advocacy, and various types of advocacy, such as legal advice and assistance, legal representation, clinical legal education, campaigning and lobbying, parliamentary advocacy, public interest litigation and strategic litigation.

Oliver told us about the power-interest-policy-matrix, which can be used to gain strategic insight in the goals and movements of advocacy. The matrix puts power and interest on a 4-box-square scale, divided in high and low, and then you can mark the place where persons or organizations currently are (high/low power, and/or high/low influence). This generates an overview and more insights in ways and strategies, such as lobbying, or the use of media (increasing interest, increasing power). It can be very useful to know more precisely which movement to achieve. The next step is then to think about How you could achieve this, and which intermediairies can be useful, which values are motivating people (In terms of persons this is often sociological, and in terms of organizations this is often more political).

The use of international advocacy, such as shadow reports or international complaint-mechanisms should only be done after first trying the national mechanisms. Referring to international treaties can be useful or totally useless, depending on the country and context. (This will be addressed later on more specifically). MDAC’s goal is to advance international law by generating influencive jurisprudence in the field of mental health laws and practices.

Then we talked a little bit about the CRPD Committee, who are only able to meet 2 times a year for a week, and are still relatively new and still finding out their optimal ways. There have been only a few country-reports yet (Tunesia, Spain and Peru), and there is a huge need for guidance on the interpretation of the UN CRPD towards governments.
Other treaties, such as CAT (Convention against Torture) also have an option to submit shadow-reports. An example of that is the written submission (shadow-report) submitted by ENUSP, MDAC and others on caged beds in Czech Republic. I was one of the representatives on behalf of ENUSP, who took part in the closed CAT-session on Czech Republic (May 11 2012). In the Concluding Observations, the CAT committee took a stand against these caged beds and net beds, and then added that other restraints had to be regulated. ENUSP and MDAC then released a response to this “unedited” version, also subtly asking to replace some words. In the final version (http://www2.ohchr.org/english/bodies/cat/cats48.htm ) the committee makes recommendations on de-institutionalization, underlining free and informed consent, and it mentions (21.c) “Provide a clear legal basis for the use of all forms of restraint measures in institutional settings. It urges the prohibition of the use of restraint measures such as cage-beds and net-beds.”
In one year the CAT Committee will follow-up on this, to see if progress in Czech Republic is made. Of course MDAC and ENUSP are still closely monitoring the situation, and it’s positive that the CAT Committee pays attention to these horrors.
For advocacy organizations it is useful to study the recommendations of international bodies (CRPD, CAT and so on) and break the statements down into concrete consistent parts, which can be measured or checked, in order to assess the implementation. NGO’s can then ask specific questions in the sessions and pin down the issue in a coherent way.
The inclusion of users and Disabled Persons’ Organizations (DPO’s) in monitoring bodies is obliged by the CRPD (art 4.3 and 33.3)

When the session was over we were asked to go to the Pizza night at the MDAC office. It was really nice to be there. All MDAC staff members gave a very short 5 minute lecture on their activities, and then it was pizza time. There is a very nice atmosphere in the MDAC office. I really enjoyed it.
Also I got a lot of compliments on my presentation of today, and many fellow-students said they really learned a lot from me, and they were very impressed. They would even recommend me as a teacher for next year. That would be cool :)

In the evening I was again at the kitchen table and Madhurima, Abida and Karen had a great idea for my case. I should ask MDAC to write down my narrative, and ask them to give me their expert opinion on the matter. I can then take that to a lawyer in the Netherlands (that would make it easier I guess). I think that is a brilliant idea. Another idea was to file criminal cases against the persons who did it to me (but I don’t really know how that works) There are 3 or 4 persons who did very bad and who I do hold accountable in a way. But I’d rather stay on the positive side: I want my rights, and I just don’t like blaming people. I just want my rights, I want to hear that it was wrong what they did, and that it can not be practiced like that, to protect other people’s rights. That is my mission.

Anyway, it had been another long and intense day, and again it is in the middle of the night (2.30). I hope to have sweet dreams now.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Jolijn

rondreizen en ontdekken hoe mensen met psychiatrische problemen overal (over)leven en kijken waarmee we elkaar kunnen helpen.

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 1008
Totaal aantal bezoekers 718820

Voorgaande reizen:

05 Juni 2019 - 06 Juni 2019

Council of Europe - Bioethics Ctee 6 June 2019

12 Mei 2019 - 13 Mei 2019

EC Work Forum on UN CRPD implementation 2019

08 Oktober 2018 - 10 Oktober 2018

Global Ministerial Mental Health Summit

20 Juni 2018 - 24 Juni 2018

Trieste congres June 2018

10 Juni 2018 - 15 Juni 2018

COSP CRPD 2018 New York

28 Mei 2018 - 29 Mei 2018

EC Work Forum on UN CRPD implementation 2018

25 Mei 2018 - 28 Mei 2018

EDF General Assembly 2018 Vilnius

02 Maart 2018 - 04 Maart 2018

EDF Board meeting Brussels 2018

23 September 1994 - 16 Februari 2018

seeking access to justice in NL

05 Februari 2018 - 15 Februari 2018

5th Global Mental Health Summit, SA 2018

06 Oktober 2017 - 09 Oktober 2017

EDF Board meeting in Tallinn

11 Juni 2017 - 25 Juni 2017

COSP NY and Summerschool Galway

06 Juni 2017 - 07 Juni 2017

Council of Europe - Bioethics Committee meeting

18 Mei 2017 - 19 Mei 2017

European Commission Workforum on UN CRPD

11 Mei 2017 - 14 Mei 2017

EDF General Assembly 2017 Madrid

10 Maart 2017 - 14 Maart 2017

WHOCC conference on coercion - Paris 2017

17 Februari 2017 - 19 Februari 2017

EDF Board meeting 2017 Malta

24 November 2016 - 30 November 2016

INTAR India 2016

13 November 2016 - 16 November 2016

ENUSP Empowerment Seminar Berlin 2016

12 Oktober 2016 - 15 Oktober 2016

Expert meeting on the Right to Mental Health

26 September 2016 - 26 September 2016

Personal meeting with MEP Helga Stevens

14 September 2016 - 16 September 2016

5th European Conference on Mental Health

09 Augustus 2016 - 11 Augustus 2016

visit to Lister and ENIK Recovery College

22 Juni 2016 - 24 Juni 2016

NUI Galway Summer School Int. Disability Law

12 Juni 2016 - 18 Juni 2016

Conference of State Parties UN CRPD

09 Juni 2016 - 10 Juni 2016

EC Workforum on CRPD implementation

20 Mei 2016 - 22 Mei 2016

EDF Annual General Assembly 2016 in Dublin

17 Mei 2016 - 17 Mei 2016

EESC Hearing on CRPD Concluding Observations to EU

09 April 2016 - 12 April 2016

WNUSP taskforce meeting and CRPD Committee

11 Maart 2016 - 13 Maart 2016

EDF board meeting Amsterdam 11-13 March 2016

13 December 2015 - 15 December 2015

ENUSP Empowerment Seminar 2015 Brussels

26 Oktober 2015 - 01 November 2015

Meetings in Brussels and Paris

26 Augustus 2015 - 29 Augustus 2015

EU review at 14th CRPD session in Geneva

15 Juli 2015 - 30 Juli 2015

Human rights work in Japan

01 Juni 2015 - 02 Juni 2015

EASPD Hearing at European Parliament

29 Mei 2015 - 31 Mei 2015

EDF General Assembly 2015 Warsaw

28 April 2015 - 29 April 2015

European Commission Work Forum CRPD implementation

29 Maart 2015 - 02 April 2015

UN CRPD Committee - 13th session

11 December 2014 - 14 December 2014

ENUSP General Assembly Hillerod 2014

14 Juli 2014 - 17 Juli 2014

Human Rights Committee 111 session July 2014

29 Maart 2014 - 05 April 2014

UN CRPD Committee sessions April 2014

09 Maart 2014 - 15 Maart 2014

HRC in Geneva and FGC in Zagreb

29 Januari 2014 - 01 Februari 2014

Empowerment Congress at WHO Europe CC

08 December 2013 - 11 December 2013

ENUSP Empowerment Seminar 2013 Bucharest

28 November 2013 - 01 December 2013

Starting FGC in Moldova - user/survivor initiative

29 Oktober 2013 - 02 November 2013

European Network for Family Group Conferencing

15 Juli 2013 - 20 Juli 2013

Conference of State Parties - New York 2013

12 Mei 2013 - 18 Mei 2013

CAT review of the Netherlands 2013

10 Maart 2013 - 15 Maart 2013

Rights into Action - training in Moldova

12 December 2012 - 16 December 2012

Expert meeting on torture- Washington DC

13 November 2012 - 14 November 2012

ENUSP MHE-Mapping Exclusion at European Parliament

05 November 2012 - 08 November 2012

London 5-8 November 2012

19 Oktober 2012 - 21 Oktober 2012

ENUSP Empowerment seminar in Zagreb

15 Juli 2012 - 28 Juli 2012

MDAC Summerschool 2012

12 Juni 2012 - 12 Juni 2012

ENUSP at EU Social Platform of NGO's

10 Mei 2012 - 11 Mei 2012

CAT session on Czech Republic - UN Geneva

14 December 2011 - 17 December 2011

OHCHR regional consultation on torture

11 Oktober 2011 - 01 November 2011

Zuid Afrika 2011

14 April 2010 - 18 April 2010

Praag - Building Bridges- Horatio

19 Oktober 2009 - 25 Oktober 2009

Congres in Stockholm

15 Maart 2009 - 30 Maart 2009

Oost Afrika 2009

29 Mei 2007 - 01 Juni 2007

WHO in Geneve, Zwitserland

03 Mei 2007 - 08 Mei 2007

Madrid - documentaire opnemen

07 Januari 2007 - 08 Februari 2007

Oost Afrika 2007

Landen bezocht: